School Governors

The Mercian Trust

On 1st January 2018 Aldridge School joined The Mercian Trust.

Visit The Mercian Trust website

The structure of Governance at Aldridge School

In order to assist with the discharge their responsibilities, the Trustees have established LGBs for its Academies.  The role of the Local Governing Body includes:

  • day-to-day” oversight of running of the academies in terms of learning, standards, safety & wellbeing
  • carrying out the MAT’s vision policies & priorities
  • holding local academy leadership to account for academic performance, quality of care & provision-
  • overseeing & monitoring the effectiveness of learning strategies
  • supporting the Board and its committees in relation to proper use of funds & delivering high quality educational provision
  • to advise and act as a critical friend to the Head Teacher and to advise the Board about local issues they need to consider that affect the Academy
  • to represent the interests of the Academy community in the running of the Academy and to represent the Academy in its community
  • to provide support to the Head Teacher in undertaking appropriate day to day procedures that are essential to the life of the Academy, such as disciplinary and complaint procedures

The membership of each LGB shall be as set out in the LGB Terms of Reference approved by the Board from time to time. LGBs membership will include:

  • at least two parent members;
  • two staff members;
  • the relevant Principal/Headteacher;
  • up to four persons appointed by the Board of Trustees; and
  • [subject to Board approval,] up to three persons co-opted by members of the LGB.

The LGB meets four times a year.

The LGB has two sub committees, these are:

Provision – overseeing Personnel, Property, Health & Safety and Finance.

Outcomes – overseeing Curriculum & Development

The LGB also forms two adhoc committees when required these are

Discipline – overseeing pupil sanctions and exclusions

Pay – overseeing staff appraisal, pay and progression

Trust Board

Mr Will Hodson
Date Appointed: 08/05/2019

Miss R Hearsey
Vice Chair
Date Appointed: 01/01/2018

Mrs B Boden
Date Appointed: 06/11/2018

Mrs C Jobling
Date Appointed: 10/09/2019

Mr E Stride
Date Appointed: 14/03/2019

Mrs J Bonner
Date Appointed: 01/01/2018

Mrs M Crooks
Date Appointed: 01/01/2018

Mr K Davies
Date Appointed: 01/01/2018

Mr M Harland
Date Appointed: 01/01/2018

Local Governing Body

Local Governing Body Meeting Attendance

Name Attendance to full Governing Body Meetings 2020-2021 
 Dawn Walker  3/4 
 David Jones  3/4 
 Elizabeth Marcano  2/4 
 Heather Ford  2/4 
 Henry Slominski  1/4 
 Jamie Lowe  2/4 
 John Murray  3/4 
 Melanie Davies  3/4 
 Parveen Kaur  2/4 
 Roxana Cozma  3/4 
 James Ellingworth  1/4 

Pecuniary, Business Interests and Other Governance Roles

Name Pecuniary, Business Interests and other Governance roles  
 Dawn Walker Consultancy IT work for IT department at a School 
 David Jones  None 
 Elizabeth Marcano  None 
 Heather Ford  None 
 Henry Slominski  None 
 Jamie Lowe  None 
 John Murray  Non-Executive Director of PTP Training LTD Elected member of Walsall  Council 
 Melanie Davies  None 
 Parveen Kaur  None 
 Roxana Cozma  None 
 James Ellingworth  None 

The governing body can be contacted by emailing or via the school address.